Annual David Epstein Clinician-Scientist Research Award

The Chandler-Grant Glaucoma Society is proud to award research grants in memory of our esteemed colleague, David L. Epstein, MD.  Read this tribute to Dr. Epstein - CLICK HERE.

Research Grant Applications

Interested applicants who are within five years of fellowship should request a letter of recommendation from their fellowship director or other CGGS member that explains why they would be a good candidate for the Clinician-Scientist Research Grant award.  The recommendation letter should contain details of the nominee's education and accomplishments to date, as well as their potential to impact upon our field in the future.  The applicant also will submit a letter that describes their commitment to being a clinician-scientist, explains their area of research interest, touches on current projects that are underway, and details how they intend to use the funds. 

Each of these letters should be no more than two pages of single-spaced lines using 1" margins, 12 pt.font size and text aligned to the left.  Recipients of the award ($5,000) will give a presentation of their research related to the award at the biannual CGGS scientific meeting in Boston at least 12 months following the date of the award announcement.

The letters should be sent to the CGGS administrative office...

By Mail:
     Chandler-Grant Glaucoma Society
     Attn:  Richard Paul, clerk
     10 W. Phillip Rd., Suite 120
     Vernon Hills, IL  60061
By Email:  [email protected]

Award Winners

The first two awards were announced at the annual Chandler-Grant Glaucoma Society AAO dinner in Chicago, IL on October 19th, 2014. The awardees are Leonard Seibold, MD from the University of Colorado and Ian Conner, MD from the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center. Dr. Seibold's application centered on studying 24 hour IOP patterns in glaucoma patients. Dr. Conner's application centered on use of MRI for investigation of glaucoma's effects in the visual cortex.

In 2015, a grant was awarded to Paula Anne Newman-Casey, MD.  The next round of applications in 2016 were awarded to David Fleischman, MD, MS; and to Jeffrey R. SooHoo, MD.

2014   Leonard Seibold, MD

Co-Director, Glaucoma Fellowship
Department of Ophthalmology
University of Colorado School of Medicine
Aurora, CO

2014   Ian Conner, MD
 Assistant Professor of Ophthalmology and Bioengineering
University of Pittsburgh and the
Director of the UPMC Eye Center in Bethel Park
2015 Paula Anne Newman-Casey, MD
Assistant Professor of Ophthalmology
Kellogg Eye Center, University of Michigan
School of Medicine, Ann Arbor
2016   David Fleischman, MD, MS
Assistant Professor of Ophthalmology
University of North Carolina School of Medicine
Chapel Hill, NC

Jeffrey R. SooHoo, MD
Assistant Professor of Ophthalmology
Associate Residency Program Director
University of Colorado School of Medicine
Aurora, CO

Last Updated on Monday, October 30, 2017 05:45 AM