Annual David L. Epstein Clinician-Scientist Research Award

2020 Award Recipient

The CGGS is pleased to provide a research grant in the amount of $5,000 to support  the work of Dr. Boese.


The Chandler Grant Glaucoma Society, in their continuing commitment to encourage Fellow research, created the David Epstein Clinical-Scientist Research Award. A research grant of $5,000 will be awarded to the chosen recipient's institution. 

The nominations deadline is December 1st. 

This research award honors David L. Epstein, MD, who is widely considered to be one of the most influential leaders in the world of glaucoma and glaucoma research over the past 40 years. The award was created to honor his commitment to the scientific understanding and cure of glaucoma through the support of promising clinician-scientists in research environments.

The Society is proud to award research grants in memory of our esteemed colleague, David L. Epstein, MD. Read this tribute to Dr. Epstein by Joel S. Schuman, MD; Past President, Chandler-Grant Glaucoma Society.

Research Grant Application 

Interested applicants who are within five years of fellowship are asked to:

  • Request a letter of recommendation from their fellowship director or other CGGS member that explains why they would be a good candidate for the Clinician-Scientist Research Grant award.  The recommendation letter should contain details of the nominee's education and accomplishments to date, as well as their potential to impact upon our field in the future. 
  • Submit a letter that describes their commitment to being a clinician-scientist, explains their area of research interest, touches on current projects that are underway, and details how they intend to use the funds. 
  • Each of these letters should be no more than two pages of single-spaced lines using 1" margins, 12 pt.font size and text aligned to the left. 

Recipients of the award ($5,000) will give a presentation of their research related to the award at a future CGGS meeting at least 12 months following the date of the award announcement.

The letters should be sent to the CGGS administrative office.  Questions?  Please contact Nadine Popovich or James Ireland at 412.321.5030.

By Mail: By Email:    (.pdf format please)

Chandler-Grant Glaucoma Society / 850  Ridge Avenue /  Pittsburgh, PA  15212

Past Awardees 

The inaugural awards were announced at the annual Chandler-Grant Glaucoma Society AAO dinner in Chicago, IL on October 19th, 2014. 

Since that time, several research grants have been awarded to the following: 

Leonard Seibold, MD

Co-Director, Glaucoma Fellowship
Department of Ophthalmology
University of Colorado School of Medicine
Aurora, CO

Ian Conner, MD

Assistant Professor of Ophthalmology and Bioengineering

University of Pittsburgh and the 

Director, UPMC Eye Center (Bethel Park)

Pittsburgh, PA

Paula Anne Newman-Casey, MD
Assistant Professor of Ophthalmology
Kellogg Eye Center, University of Michigan

School of Medicine, Ann Arbor

Ann Arbor, MI

David Fleischman, MD, MS
Assistant Professor of Ophthalmology
University of North Carolina School of Medicine
Chapel Hill, NC

Jeffrey R. SooHoo, MD
Assistant Professor of Ophthalmology
Associate Residency Program Director
University of Colorado School of Medicine
Aurora, C

Chandler Grant Glaucoma Society
850 Ridge Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA  15212
412-321-5030  FAX 412-321-5323

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software